being in college means you need a cause

Being in college means you need a cause. You need to rally. You need to protest or make a poster or join some clubs or something. Anything. With a day before I start school, this has been on my mind a lot recently.

Maybe it’s not true across the board. Maybe some people never feel the need to support something or fight for something bigger than themselves. I’m one who needs to. Through most of my life up till now, it’s been all about me. All about developing me in mind and body for…what? That I don’t know, but I’m sure I’m not alone when I say that it gets to feeling really cheap to spend so much time only on myself. Must be the reason so many people use their college time to get behind something and push. And also the reason so many go crazy and do stupid things in the name of folly that they joke about when they’re forty and running for office. “Yeah. My college days were crazy, man! But who hasn’t done some stupid things in college?” I hear that a lot.

I don’t want to do anything stupid. Sure, this may be the last arena where I could do it and reasonably get away with it, but why bother? I’ll do what I want to do, and stupid isn’t on the list. Finding a cause is, though, which brings me back to my point.

I’ve joined a few clubs so far. The Korean Club, the Shooter’s Club, and the local Christian ministry club. Not knowing how busy I’ll be, I’m reluctant to join more. I’m looking for a church home on top of all this, and hope to get very involved there. I want to help with something – use my passions and talents for something of cosmic importance. Sounds great, right? I got the urge, man. The urge to RALLY! Well, not literally.

Ever feel that way? I kind of hope it doesn’t peter out too much the rest of my life. Sure, theoretically I can see the appeal of settling down, and once I get married, I’m sure I’ll crave a lot of stability, but right now I’m raring to go and in a fighting mood.

HUZZAH!!

otter.

Leave a Reply

