thumb-twiddling

Preparations for moving out are going well. I have at least gone through all the rubbish in various corners of my room and decided what to keep, toss, or sell. A rather large accomplishment and one that has been niggling vociferously in my noggin for some time. Go me.

I have sent off all of the paperwork on my end, signed what needs to be signed, and we have a definite date for moving in and the enlisted help of some friends.

So, what now? I have a couple weeks left until the actual move – I’m stuck at home waiting and twiddling my thumbs, playing hours of pyramid solitaire and trying to blog. Books and TV only vaguely old my interest, and most of the time I’m just waiting in the time between meals.

But never fear, oh readers of mine who despair over my lethargy; I am not all lost. I have created some lists to help me set down good roots in my new abode. For instance, I have created both a morning and evening routine full of relaxing and/or productive things to help me round out my days. A day well rounded is, well, rounded.

I got the idea from the book One Bite at a Time by Tsh Oxenreider. She has 52 projects to help streamline your life, finances, and home. I love the book. Simple and doable. As far as the morning and evening routines go, she argues that having a set of habits that you repeat, as simple as they may be, helps structure your life by providing ‘book-ends.’ I agree.

For a taster, my morning routine;

  • Drink water
  • Make bed
  • Shower/get ready
  • Breakfast outside on the patio (my apartment has one. Huzzah!)
  • Pray/Meditate

And the evening;

  • Make to-do list for next day
  • Bible reading
  • Quick Journal/Brain dump
  • Pick out clothes for next day
  • Read for 10-15 minutes

She has more options and ideas – I just picked the ones I thought would work for me. I tend to be on the computer right before bed, and it makes sleeping difficult, so I want to change that.

I honestly think it will help me, especially as I have added brain dump for my list of evening habits. My brain is one of those that like to poke at me all through the night with interesting anecdotes and ideas. Accursed thing.

I’m also slowly working on a meal and exercise plan, to be started immediately upon arrival at the new place, and school will start soon after, so my schedule will be full and unable to be gotten round. I do love being busy because it saves me the trouble of doing it myself. I sound utterly lazy. For shame.

otter.

2 thoughts on “thumb-twiddling

    • Great! Always glad to pass on a good idea. In fact, if you can get a hold of the book, she has so many fantastic ideas for stream-lining and simplifying life – it’s awesome.

      Hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

