New Year, New Life!

Chinese New Year just passed, and since I didn’t do much in the way of, uh, “actual” New Year’s resolutions (read: none), let me do this instead. I’m going to share the most exciting thing in my life right now; the re-directing of it.

First of all, a little personal background. Up until recently, I was having a really hard time figuring out what to do in my life. I had some ambitions; be a writer, travel, be an editor, work for myself, and so on. These plans were nebulous at best, hazy representations of what I considered “the good life.” But they were based on expectations I and others had placed on myself. I , like the majority of other people, have always thought of work as, well, work. Something not very enjoyable that nevertheless had to be endured in order to make money and survive. I wanted to work in something fun, like writing, but, let’s face it, writing won’t pay the bills if you’re not an instant best-seller. So I knew I’d need something more, let’s say, professional, in order to survive. Something I could say and people would be impressed with. Something high-end that would fit in with my idea of successful.

Enter in a couple of books (thanks especially to my mother who got me into this first one). First, we have 48 Days to the Work You Love by Dan Miller. I won’t go into too much detail, since it would be better for you to just buy it, but the book takes you on a 48-day journey to find what you’re “born” to do. Sounds cheesy, right? Well, it’s not. It makes you think about your best talents and how you could work in that strength, and also helps you realize that your dream job is plausible and possible. I had to write a list of dream jobs, and a couple of them were really obscure, like “tea-taster,” or “full-time blogger.” Obscure, yes. Impossible, no. At the very least, this book broke me out of the mold of having the “perfect” career and focusing on only the money.

Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. ~Confucius

Wise words, friends. So, I have my list of dream jobs. Have I narrowed it down? Not yet. I’m still young, I’m in no rush to find the rest of my life. It might make things a little less stressful, but I have a problem with over-planning and living in the future anyway.

Now, enter the second book; Living the 80/20 Way by Richard Koch. If you’re not familiar with the 80/20 principle of business, do some research. Trust me, if you’re new to this, it will CHANGE YOUR LIFE. (*cue dun-dun-dun) His first book was strictly for business people, but this one focuses on applying the principle to your life. Much better for people who are bored by statistics. I feel like this book is a good runner-up to 48 Days, because it helps you get to your dream job and dream life in practical, minimal steps. Read them.

Am I excited? Oh yeah. I’m still spending more time planning than actually doing, but I think I’m on the right road to the future I want.

Huzzah, world! Here comes a crazy white girl!

otter.

Leave a Reply

