peculiar joys

It’s been two months exactly since the day I left America to come teach in Taiwan. It’s been a time of learning, of gaining insight and experience into another culture and my own capabilities, and a time to learn to trust God to see to my needs. For one thing, I haven’t been sick, really sick, at all since I came. Sure, the food sometimes turns my stomach, but overall I have been abundantly blessed with good health and supernatural levels of energy. (If you could see these kids, the mere fact that I could keep up with them is cause for celebration.)

Why did I call this post “peculiar joys?” Because during this time of teaching, especially these first months, it’s been a time of stretching and doing things I don’t always want to do. It’s hard to make yourself get up and teach and be on call for ten or twelve hours a day (when we have night class, even if we’re not teaching a solid amount of time, we’re in the office, on work mode, from about seven in the morning to seven or eight at night.) It’s tiring. Exhausting sometimes. I can get pretty tired. But there’s a peculiar joy in knowing that this is part of adult-hood. Knowing this is making me have a better work ethic, a better outlook, a better dedication to duty, a higher tolerance for unpleasant things, and a resilience whenever I think I’ve had it, is terribly satisfying. Like the peculiar satisfaction that comes from denying yourself something you shouldn’t have but want: it’s the same. I can look back on the day, knowing I’ve put in hard work, and whether it’s gone well or not, I’m happy about that. I’m happy when I have an experience, good or bad, that gives me experience. When I’m old and wrinkled, I want to be happy and full of stories about things I’ve done and things I can do. I won’t get those stories unless I push myself to do everything I can, hard or easy, whether I feel like it or not.

This year will be a growing year. It will come gradually but greatly. Everyone has certain years that weigh more in their lives. This year will definitely be one for me.

playtime2

Keep on smiling!

otter.

Leave a Reply

