the mad herbalist: oatmeal exfoliant

Now, this is a bit embarrassing to post pictures of, but it’s kinda fun too, so…

mask1

The oatmeal mask! Tada! An excellent exfoliant and basic mask for just about any skin type. It’s basically oatmeal; oats and milk, smeared on one’s face. Yum?

bowl

mortar

The oats need to be ground before using, otherwise they’ll be too big. And I would wear something you don’t mind getting oatmeal-ey.

mask2

Anyway, it felt great, believe it or not, and was super easy. Just messy, so I did it in the kitchen over a bowl.

Note that I have very very sensitive skin, and this wasn’t irritating at all. So if you’re looking for a nice, gentle exfoliant, this might be just the one.

mask3

(Man it was a mess…)

otter.

10 thoughts on “the mad herbalist: oatmeal exfoliant

  1. Oh, I’ve done the oatmeal mask before, but would never be brave enough to post it online…. you go girl!

    The oatmeal really gets messy, but I really liked the way it made my skin feel, I’ve got sensitive skin too!

    • Thanks! If you’ve never done a mask, I would say this is the best place to start. It’s incredibly simple; and the ingredients are right at home! :D

  2. Oatmeal makes a wonderful mask or daily cleanser, but you are right it can get very messy! I think it is worth it though because it makes your skin so soft!

  3. So, I’m new here, but is there a recipe posted for this delicious/exfoliating concoction, or is it more about just the experience of it? :) Cuz I’d love to try, but I have very little knowledge of face masks and things like that…so if there is a recipe somewhere, I’d love to see it!

    • I’m glad you stopped by! I got the recipe from the book I mention in a previous post, but it’s super simple. Literally just ground oats and milk. Generally I don’t post recipes from books, but this is a pretty universal idea. Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

