the mad herbalist

It’s dark in the apothecary cupboard. The shelves are lined with glass bottles and jars, ranging in size from the smallest of eye-drop jars to huge tankards full of mysterious swimming fungus. Wearing my apron that’s more pocket than not, I peer near-sightedly at the tiny bottle in my hands. Carefully, I squeeze three drops of essential oil into it. For a moment, I am suspended in time, watching the drop swirl in the bottle. Then, with a loud roar, the bottle explodes.

However good for a story, hopefully the above scenario won’t occur in reality. You see, starting soon, I’ll be doing a series on Natural Remedies, Herbalism and Holistic living. I’m planning on doing book reviews, recipe reviews, and examples of stuff I’ve tried. Explosions notwithstanding, I intend to try everything from natural toothpaste to headache cures, recipes for energy and stress-relief, and tonics and tinctures for specific complaints. I even intend to try warding off spiders and other nasty pests.

 

(me ^ the mad herbalist. oh dear)

Psalm 104:1-3 – Bless the Lord, O my soul! O Lord my God, you are very great! You are clothed with splendor and majesty, covering yourself with light as with a garment, stretching out the heavens like a tent. He lays the beams of his chambers on the waters; he makes the clouds his chariot; he rides on the wings of the wind.

otter.

2 thoughts on “the mad herbalist

Leave a Reply

